2001-12-21 � Catholics are whack!

I've finished my exams. I had a number of really great suggestions on which word I should choose for my game. The word I chose was "novacaine" because it's just not a very useful word and I wanted a challenge. And for those of you keeping score, I worked novacaine into all five exams, even Real Estate Transactions.

In other news, I'm indeed in Oklahoma now. Home of the boot cut business suit. I just shuddered as I typed that. I'm having a lovely time visiting my family. My sister is a first grade teacher. This evening was the Christmas pageant at her school. I took a break from my take home exam to go see her kids perform. It was bedlam.

She teaches at a private Catholic school called Holy Family. Holy Family Cathedral is quite a beautiful place. The pageant was the story of Jesus' birth, of course, and even featured a real live baby. The Christmas story was told from the point of view of the inn keeper who turned Mary and Joseph away. He learned a valuable lesson in the end, I can tell you! A lesson about greed and kindness and respect for the psychic impressions of his underlings who could sense the impending birth of a messiah!

The children were delightful, but the parents were the real show. All standing up at various times to take photos of their kids in bathrobes with towels tied to their heads.

At the end the principal gave a short talk thanking all the kids for their hard work and delivering an inspirational speech about the everyday miracles we see around us. She gave as an example of a miracle the miracle that we were all gathered there from all over the city of Tulsa, surrounding communities, and Brazil. Then she said, "last year our Baby Jesus was Asian. This year he's Caucasian and he's a girl."

When she said this, I laughed hard, and loud, and I was the only one laughing. People turned to glare at me so I put my hand over my mouth to hold in the spontaneity. I was only marginally successful.

Posted at 4:33 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action