2001-12-28 � for protection

When I first got to my parents home for my Christmas visit I noticed a rifle leaning against the fire place. Naturally, I asked about it.

"There's a gun. By the fire place." I picked it up and inspected it. "I can't help but notice that it's loaded. This gun."

"Yeah," my dad explained. "I got an armadillo tearin' up my flower beds. I'm gonna teach it a lesson."

Later that evening I was in the linen closet getting some clean sheets for the guest bed. I reached for the flannel, because they're soft and warm and a pistol fell out of the bottom sheet. I sort of stared at it resting against my toes. "There's a gun in the sheets." I announced.

"Yeah, that's there for protection."

"From what?" I asked.

"From burglars or whatever" my dad explained.

"Oh."

I'm afraid to open any more cabinets or doors. I don't want to find the rocket launcher or the stack of grenades.

Posted at 2:15 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action