2001-12-10 � it starts

Today I begin my game. Today I have my first final of the semester. For those of you who don't know, finals in law school are very important. It is not unusual for law students, especially first year law students, to dig caverns in the ground around finals time and secure themselves inside with plenty of batteries for reading lanterns and special tea herbalists swear will assist in memory engram production.

In virtually every law school course the only grade one receives is the final. Therefore, how often you attended class, or how well you kept up with the reading or any of the other factors that often accompany a grade are completely irrelevant and whether or not you get a job depends entirely on your performance in a three hour exam.

It's true.

It's kind of like basketball in that if you excuse yourself for large portions of the game you really haven't missed anything especially important because it all comes down to the final minute anyway. Oh, seeing the whole game is useful and fun, but if your team tips one in at the buzzer all the other points they earned are really irrelevant. For this reason I think basketball games should be one minute long. There would be less beer consumed, but you would get a largely similar outcome and skip straight to the fun part of the game.

Law school exams are like that.

So, anyway, back to my game. Every term I choose a word and I work that word into every exam I take. Past choices have been "eclipse" and "monkey" and "jihad." This term the favorites are "hegemony" and "cell tower." I don't know which to choose. I'm still taking suggestions though. If you have a suggestion for me sign my guestbook, or leave me a note or send me mail at [email protected].

Posted at 1:35 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action