2001-11-20 � just a short one

So, last weekend a midget came into the library. We were sitting behind the circulation desk, which is comparably quite high I suppose, and we heard a faint rapping. We looked around at each other, blinking and such. Peth waggled her musical finger �tinka tinka tink� and the rapping responded �tappa tappa tap.� Again, �tinka tinka tink.� Then �tappa tappa tap.� So Peth stood up and leaned over the counter, her bosom squished against the Formica.

�Oh, hello� she said. �I�m sorry, we didn�t see you come in.�

I stood up and leaned over the counter too. There she was, a midget.

She asked for help with a research question and I did my best to help her. We looked hither and yon for her source materials. Then she left. Slipped out under our noses, as it were.

Peth said, �I�ll let you have that one. You know for Diaryland. We know how you are. About the, you know��

�Midgets?� I asked.

�Yes� she said

Posted at 5:31 p.m.

previously on Sooner � next on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action