2001-11-19 � family law

A few minutes ago I actually said this to my sister. "So have you thought about a prenuptual agreement?"

They say law school alters you. From her reaction to what I believed at the time to be a perfectly benign question, I'd say that is true.

"Come again" she said politely.

"A pre-nup. Any thoughts?"

"A pre-nup? A marriage contract?"

"Yeah, you know, so if he leaves you don't get screwed. A pre-nup."

"Brian, he's not gonna leave. I had the talk with him. I told him, once we get married that's it. None of this ditching in a few years that everybody does now."

"Oh." I didn't know what else to say. I'm mostly amused by the audacity it took for me to ask the question. I'm certainly more amused by the audacity than the innocence in the response. I remember being innocent. That was before law school.

"Well," I stammered, "I know you're in it for the long haul and all that. I mean I'm sure nothing could go wrong. But sometimes things don't work out like we hope and, um, you know, it's good to be prepared. That's all."

"Listen, Brian, don't talk that way. Besides I've seen how he treats ex-girlfriends. No Ex-wife of his would ever be left high and dry."

"Ok. As long as you've thought about it."

"Why? What are you thinking?"

"Oh, nothing. Just you know, a little family law can really scare a person." I deftly changed the subject. "Tell me about your ring again."

I think everybody should go to law school. Either that or nobody should be allowed to go. If everybody had a J.D. the next time I catch myself thinking like a lawyer I won't feel like such an asshole.

Posted at 11:58 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action