2002-02-02 � some kind of game?

I went to Peth's party and Bevin stood us up. There was wine and there was beer and there was a whisk. Pretty soon, someone suggested we play freeze tag.

"Yay! Freeze tag!" we enthused.

Then K-boy said, "no. Let's play that other game."

"Which other game?" someone asked.

"You know, it was called... oh... 'Something Ghost' maybe? Or 'Something Murder' or maybe 'Murder Something.' I can't remember what it's called. But it's a lot of fun. That's what we should play."

"Ok. Just tell us how to play. What are the rules?"

"Well, someone stands at one end of the driveway and that person takes his flashlight and..."

"Wait. We need a flashlight?"

"Yes. Everyone needs a flashlight."

"Peth, do you have enough flashlights? How many do you have?"

Peth thought for a moment. "I have one under the sink and I have a little maglight."

"I think we have one in the truck," Blandie said from his seat on the orange sofa. "We have one in the truck, right?"

I wanted to get back to the issue so I said, "Ok, I think we can handle the flashlight issue in a minute. Let's get back to the rules of the game. How do you play? One person stands on the driveway and..."

"Yes, yes." K-Boy cleared his throat. "See what happens is one person who is 'it' stands on one end of the driveway. And we all run past him and he sort of..." K-boy stuck his arms out. "You know. Like that. And then you have to get past him, but if he catches you with the light then... or how does that go again?"

"Wait. What is this about using your arms? What is the person who is 'it' doing?"

"You know." K-Boy lunged again. "Like that."

"Oh."

"So if you get hit by the flashlight then I think you have to go in the cage." K-Boy continued.

"What? Where are we gonna get a cage? Peth do you have a cage?"

She smiled and drifted off a little. Then she said, "no. I'm certain there's no cage in the basement, by the water heater, under the swing. I'm certain it's gone."

K-Boy chimed back in. "Well, you don't really need a cage. Not an actual cage. You just designate some space as the cage and when you get sent to the cage you have to stand there. In the cage. See?"

"K-Boy, I'm interested in understanding the rules of your game," I said. "But it's still unclear. This is what I have so far. Someone is 'it' and stands at the end of the drive way and has a seizure. Then we get past him and he shines his light on us and we have to go to a cage. Is that all correct?"

"Well, yeah. The first person sent to the cage will be the next 'it' but the round continues until 'it' has caught everyone. Get it?"

We all kind of eyed the tortilla chips. "Peth, do you have Trivial Pursuit?"

Posted at 10:57 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action