2003-02-10 � The Doppelganger Project

Oh, Diaryland. I'm a little bored. Not of you, now! Perish the thought. But, I'm still thinking I need a bit of a shake up.

My life, as you well know, is not terribly interesting. I work, I see movies, I watch Alias, I do laundry. I spice it up where I can for you by taking special note of any craziness I encounter, and craziness is abundant in my general vicinity. But it's taken on the flavor of the same old. You know what I'm talking about. And, Diaryland, I don't want to walk through life looking like this. I really don't.

I've decided therefore to turn to you, Diaryland, for a little help. I've developed what I will be referring to as the Doppelganger Project. It's a very exciting new service I'll be offering in my spare time. Here's the way it works.

Since it is true that I've been bored lately with my own life, I want to take over your life for a day. No, I'm not really going to do your job, or clean your fish tank, or wrap your babes in swaddling clothes. It's just pretend.

If you want to participate in the project,

1) sign my guestbook and let me know.

2) Then, I'll contact you via email or such like and we'll discuss when I should assume your life. I'll need you to propose a topic. Something interesting that I might want to experience. Something like on Friday I get the results back from my HIV test or next Thursday I intend to get hit by a bus or a week from today I will taste my very first Altoid. It can be anything, but it has to be about you.

3) Then, on the appropriate day, I will use your proposed topic and write your diary entry for you. I'll email it to you and you can cut and paste it into your diary and take total credit for it.

There are, of course, legal disclaimers. I disclaim all liability for anything going wrong, and none of this should be understood to be on a deadline, as such. This is a spare time project, not an occupation. And of course I reserve the right to archive anything I write for you and post it here. Oh, and I can quit anytime my life becomes more interesting than yours.

So, let me know if you want to play.

Entertain me.

Posted at 3:14 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action