2001-11-24 � phone tag

I was sitting over at the reference desk when the phone rang.

Theresa ambled over to the receiver. "Law library. Huh? Speak up. Yes, I can now. Huh? Oh, ok."

Within a few seconds my phone was ringing. I picked it up and I heard Theresa muttering in the background. "Damn thing. I think you hit confrence and then you hit... oh, what is it. Let me see here... oh, damn thing. Let me just get... oh. There 6-4-8-7." She dutifully dialed the numbers in my ear.

"Theresa, I got it. Theresa, you don't have to--JUST HANG UP! I GOT IT. THERESA, I GOT IT. THERESA! HANG UP THE PHONE!"

She dialed a few more numbers and then, click, the line went dead. Dial tone.

In a few seconds my phone rang again. This time someone had dialed the extention directly. I picked it up and Tom said, "I just got transfered to a fax machine. She transfered me to a fax machine. BEEEEEP WHRRRRRR SCREEEEEEECH."

I think Tom is part fax machine. He immitated the data protocols a little too well.

In other library phone news, the maintenance man was just using our phone. I heard him say "yeah, it's a major clean up. No, no, but I've got to get something done about this today. The problem is with the flushometer in the toilet and I'm gonna fix that right now."

It's always an adventure.

What is a flushometer anyway?

Posted at 3:49 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action