2001-11-17 � ear drum

About ten-thirty this morning Peth, Theresa, and I started to hear a rythmic booming. We sat behind the circulation desk trying to locate the source of the sound.

"Is it construction?" Peth asked.

"It sounds like a marching band," I said.

"Hey, you're right. It does sound like a marching band" said Peth.

About that time Ellen came up to the circulation desk and said, "What is that sound? Do you hear it?"

"Yes, Ellen," I said, "We've been trying to figure out exactly what that is. Doesn't it sound like a marching band? Like the drum line?"

"It sure does" said Ellen.

Then I spotted it. Out the window and in the distance there was a marching band. "It is a marching band," I enthused. "Look out there. See it?"

Peth, Ellen, and I gathered around the window and started pointing. Theresa remained seated at her desk. We talked for about five minutes about the band and the rehearsal they seemed to be having. Or maybe they were lining up for a parade. But who parades through the ghetto? "It could be the magnet school over there." "Is it Camden High?" "They're in purple, what local school has purple?"

Then we were over it. We resumed our lives, the drumming in the background.

Ten minutes later, "Hey everybody look!" It was Theresa. "It is a marching band. See them across the way there? See the drummers?"

Theresa took my arm and dragged me over to the window. "Do you see them? See the band over there? They must be going to a football game."

She went over and got the fetching Peth who had bugged out eyes. "Look at them there, all in purple. Who wears purple, lemme see now. Does Camden high?

"Aww, I'll be darned. Look at that wonderful site! I told you I heard something. Is that construction? I asked, but it wasn't. It was those drummers." Her finger pressed to the window leaving a print on the glass. "Drumming away, they are. Aww, I'll be darned. I bet that sound is drumming! I said, and I was right. See? See the band? See the marching band over there? See?"

I don't know what else to say about the incident. I leave the analysis to you.

Posted at 11:00 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action