2004-05-17 � On Thinking About Death

Ok, good. Very good. It looks like we're all here now, so I'd like to call this meeting to order.

Welcome all, I�m sorry about the confusion regarding the time, but it�s all sorted now. Ok. So, I think what we�ll do is try to, you know, go around the table this way, like this. This way. So, for example, let�s give the example of I�ll start, ok, and then it will go this way so next will be Tina and then we will go this way so next will be Lawrence and then we�re still going this way so next will be Amber until we go all the way around the table this way through you and you and so on like that this way and we finally end here with Gary who will be last because we�re going this way.

Ok. So, is that clear then? To everybody? Which way we�re going? Good.

Now. Then. I have an item, and, you know what? I hesitate to even bring this up. Let me just... I�m just looking over my notes on this. Let me just... I�ll just... Bear with me while I just... I�m going to just... There�s an item I just... Well, I just� Let me put it this way. I�m just� Do you know what I�m saying about how I�m just� I�ll read it over again and just�

Yes, ok. Well, I�m just going to go ahead and share this item and then we will open it up for comments. Ok? Ok.

Well, as you know, Dean Edwards does an annual survey of all non-tenured faculty. That is, those faculty who are part time, clinical, adjunct, teach legal research and writing, and early tenure track. And this year there was a bit of a response relating directly to the library. What I�m trying to say is that there was some library related response.

Let me just read this to you. One faculty member wrote, and I quote, ahem, "reference unable to fulfill request. Disappointing."

I�ll just let that one sink in a little. Just listen to it again. "Reference unable to fulfill request. Disappointing."

Now, I know that�s soaking in now, that you�re all marinating and macerating in it. And I know that just like me, all of your hearts are breaking, so we�ll have a moment of quiet time now while you each think over the implications of this survey response and then I�ll open it up for comments. We need to support each other now more than ever, so constructive comments only. OK. Sixty seconds of quiet reflection... beginning... now.

Hush now. Thirty-six seconds left.

Alright, that�s it. Deborah, start the clock over. Silent means silent, people. S-I-L-E-N-T, ok? Silence is golden, especially in a moment of silent reflection. Ok. Sixty seconds beginning again... now.

Five, four, three, two, and the floor is now open for discussion.

No, I don�t know what the request was.

No, Linda, I haven�t any idea which professor is "disappointed" with us.

No, Stephen, I don�t know when this happened.

Any other comments on this item? Anything else any of you have to say? Anything? Anything at all? Floor is open. I�m going to close discussion on this in sixty seconds unless someone speaks up. Start the clock. Fifty-seven seconds left. Forty-two. Twenty-eight. Seven left. Four, three, two, one.

Ok. I can see you�re all too broken by the negative feedback to respond right away. I can see this will take time. Let�s all commit to not letting this happen again, ok? Let�s all agree that we don�t want this to ever happen again. Ever. Ok? Can we all agree to that? Can we all agree?

David? Do you agree? That you never want this to happen again? And that you�ll dedicated your professional energies to ensuring it doesn�t? Can you agree with us about that? Can you? I was just asking because you seem to have fallen asleep. Yes, you were, David. Yes, you were. Yes, you were. David, there was drool, ok? Drool, David. What? Neurological? Oh. That may have been my mistake, David, I�m sorry. Is there treatment? Uh-huh. Well, let�s all keep positive thoughts for David and his family, then. You�re in our prayers.

Anyway, I�ll let you all think about this and what you want to do about it for a while and we�ll reopen this discussion at the next meeting.

Ok. That�s all I have. So, we're going this way, right? Oh. That way. Yes. That's right. We're going this way, so next will be Tina. Tina, do you have anything to report?

~~~~~~

There are many display cases in the library. Several weeks ago I was asked to create a new display in one of the cases relating to D-Day and its anniversary. The library was sent large poster from the History Channel along with a large book full of period images from Life magazine.

My instructions were spare. Topic: D-Day. Materials: Images from Life magazine, the History Channel poster and bookmarks, any materials in the library, or from the University�s library system, that were visually interesting and related. Space available: one glass table display approx 4� x 5�.

When one thinks of D-Day, one thinks of heroism, adventure, maybe even Steve McQueen. The poster and bookmarks from the History Channel are certainly filled with this idea. They�re bright with photos of paratroopers dropping from airplanes in a sky filled with potential. I put this poster right in the middle. Then I surrounded it with images of death and injury. Gravestones; soldiers with head wounds waiting to be tended to; a French man presenting the body of a German he�d killed to Allied soldiers; a soldier with a bugel playing Taps while a single tear streams down his cheek; patients, freed from an asylum when it was partially destroyed in a bombing raid, wandering aimlessly on the battleground in bare feet. You get the idea. Then I filled all remaining available space with books about military occupation during World War II.

It�s my own minor statement right there in the middle of the library.

Yesterday, The One True Love of My Life became the first to notice my display. �So scary!� she whisper-yelled. �So scary all of duh deat. Dead people on the ground like fish in case!�

I have never been more in love.

Posted at 2:11 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action