2004-03-13 � Acceptance

Ok. In yesterday�s mail I received an invitation to join MENSA. It seems my test was scored and despite my complete lack of programming skills, I�ve been officially welcomed into the fold of programmers. Upon receipt of my membership fee, of course. It is the high IQ society, so they are smart about getting the money first and all. We MENSANS. Wylie one and all! Aha-ha!

Anyway, I�ve got a license to be superior to all of you except those of you who may be programmers. You, I�m clearly not superior to.

By the way, this weekend my local chapter of MENSA is hosting a limerick contest with prizes and everything. As a MENSAN, I�m invited to compete, and if I do compete I�ll get a very special invitation to participate in a meet and greet with the regional limerick champion and try to match wits with him. Aha-ha!

~~~~~~

I am reluctant to begin recounting the sordid behind-the-scenes tales of my new library in the way I ordinarily recount my adventures at work because I am just not sure about the receptiveness to this particular form of free expression. I am still feeling out the climate. How reserved are my employers? Do their senses of humor mesh with mine in a way that would permit me to speak candidly about workplace politics?

It is clear no place I will ever work for the rest of my life will be as loose as Judge Selma�s chambers with regard to that sort of thing. Judge Selma employs the very practical perspective that as long as your work is always done well and on time then other concerns are secondary or even non-existent. She is probably the hardest working woman I�ve ever known and she respects others who also work hard and other considerations just don�t exist to her. There is probably a line for crossing, but I don�t think I approached it so I never worried much about how it was defined.

As it is, I note a fairly conservative atmosphere here in that the overall feeling I get from my colleagues seems to be one of reserve. And I can say with some degree of certainty that there does not seem to be any one like me in that freewheeling way working here so I�ve got to get them used to me a little before I really let my personality shine full on.

I have been attempting to loosen them up by exposing my Year One project to my colleagues. Some are quietly supportive, some look at me askance and shake their heads gently, some�actually one in particular�have tried to convince me to abandon the Year One endeavor outright. �You�ve taken no oath, Brian. There�s no real need to follow through on this. Commitments like this can be easily aborted.�

Oh, how I miss the days of the Princess. And though I love my new job and I genuinely like the people I work with, I�m totally ready for a little bit of irreverence to get hired and take the empty office beside mine.

But that is not on the horizon, so today I announce the official start of my campaign to choose and corrupt one of my colleagues. It is the goal of this campaign to recruit a co-hort, an accomplice, a sibling-at-arms. There are several likely candidates, of course. The techy, the dog lover, the ornithologist, my superior with the Latin ways, others.

I will update you periodically on my progress and with any luck I�ll have a Peth or an Addie or a LoRo in no time.

Suggestions on how to proceed are always welcome.

Posted at 11:58 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action