2001-11-29 � Cheese!

So at my law school there is a homeless guy who is enrolled and is a student and I have written about him before. We call him glove guy. He has a mental disorder that makes him live under a bridge and smell like kitty litter and wear gloves. Plastic gloves and sometimes 3 or 4 pair of them at once.

He eats entire meals in class. He accomplishes this without the aid of his fingers. Only the palm of his hand. It is astounding.

Up until today I have seen him wearing one outfit. Only one. The same one for three years. Every day. I assume this is a side effect of living under a bridge. I don't know what else to think.

Today, however, he was wearing new clothes. Clothes so new that the jeans still had a crease down the front of the leg. And a sweatshirt. I imagine it must have been difficult for him to aquire new clothes. I won't speculate as to the process.

The new clothes, however, were not the most interesting thing about him today. He brought a camera to class. Periodically, he would turn around and snap flash pictures of the class. Just shots of seemingly random students. He wouldn't even give you time to prepare by primping or smiling. He was behaving like we shouldn't notice him. Like he was invisible and sly. Like nobody noticed that he was taking their picture.

Nobody asked him about the camera. Nobody dared, not even Comrade Pomorski. Nobody wanted to have a shrine built to their honor under a bridge.

I was a little disquited by this. I mean, he has a serious mental illness and a camera. It seems he's not afraid of using either.

Posted at 11:09 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action