2002-02-28 � magically delicious

So, while i was in Albany, helping my friend, Chris, prepare for her bar exam, I stayed at the Ramada Inn Downtown. Here are some of the unadvertized amenities.

  • creepy smell
  • genetic specimines from previous occupants. These specimens included
    • hair
    • a fingernail stuck to the shower curtain
    • fluid stains on carpets and bed linens
  • beautiful panoramic view of Greyhound Bus Station maintenance bay
  • walking distance to homeless shelter
  • and did I mention the smell?

Also included was a free breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Every morning, you get a coupon from the front desk and exchange the coupn for eggs and such.

We went to the desk to request a coupon and the manager was on the phone. "Well the computer says the call came from your room. Oh, you didn't? Well, all I'm saying is that if I catch you doing it again, I'll put you out on the street and it's cold out there. One more complaint and you're out on your ass. I'm serious. No more prank calls. OK. I'll have the towels sent right up."

Chris and I blinked at each other and held hands for security sake under the counter where he couldn't see. He cheerily gave us our coupons and we went on to get our breakfast.

The pizza restaurant serves as the breakfast room in the morning. At the back of the room, there was a table set with coffee, orange juice, cereal and milk. All over the restaurant, including on the table, there are signs that say, if you take cereal, that is considered a full breakfast and you will not be able to order off the menu.

It should be mentioned that virtually every person in the hotel was there for the bar. The hotel was walking distance from the testing site. Also virtually everyone in the hotel had English as a second language. This makes sense, really, because many people taking the February bar did not pass in July. It is primarily an essay exam, so if you struggle a bit with English it can decrease your chances of passing and increase the probability you will be retesting.

So there was this woman who I guess reads only sanskrit. She sat down at a table, ordered breakfast from the menu, and then went to the table to get coffee. Despite the warning signs posted all around she also got cereal!

So she sits down, and begins to enjoy her Lucky Charms. The waitress comes out with her poached eggs and sees the cereal and blows a gasket.

"Didn't you read the signs? There are signs all around! I can't let you have both! Not on the coupon. You can't have both!" She went to the wall, ripped a sign down and brought it over to the cereal offender. "See what it says? Do you see that? Can you read it to me? Can you read that out loud? To me? Because I guess you just don't know what it says, so I'm going to help you understand. I'M GOING TO HELP YOU UNDERSTAND THE RULES!"

The cereal girl was holding strong against the onslaught. I saw a single tear escape down her cheek.

"I'll read it to you! How about that? How about those Apple Jacks? How about those Apples? It says, 'if you take cereal it is a FULL BREAKFAST and you will not be permitted to order off the menu.' That's what all the signs say. They're all around the room. See them? DO YOU SEE THEM?"

The cereal girl nodded.

"You're not going to get away with this, you know. You're not going to get away with this one on your pretty smile. No, ma'am. Not on my watch, not on my dime, not me, no ma'am. I'm going to have to charge you for that cereal. I'm having two dollars added to your room bill. Maybe tomorrow you can follow the rules."

The waitress threw the eggs down on the table in front of the cereal girl and then burst into tears and ran into the kitchen covering her face.

I didn't leave a tip. Was that wrong?

~~~~~~

A few weeks ago, April gave me the idea for a little side project. You're welcome to take a look around. But remember, you break it, you bought it. That's the rule. Click these words right here to be magically transported to my world of hate.

Posted at 11:22 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action