2002-01-20 � bye bob

I was working at the library today. When it came my appointed time to leave I took the elevator to the first floor and came face to face with Bob. He was looking a little more disheveled than normal, but I've come to expect the oddest things from Bob. "Oh, Brian, I'm glad to see you. I wanted to tell you something."

I braced myself. The last time Bob wanted to tell me something it was that sometimes he thinks about boys in that way and gosh isn't my hair cute today. The time before that it was that he'd taken himself off his meds and his psychologist was pretty mad at him.

"What did you want, Bob?"

"Well, I wanted to tell you that if everything works out, I'm going to be taking a teaching job in a couple of weeks. A job in upstate New York."

"Really?"

"Yeah, but don't worry. I'll still come back to finish my J.D."

"Well, you're not really that far along, are you? I mean there were two or three semesters you didn't finish, right?"

"Yeah. Well, it's just that I have problems, you know."

"Yeah. I know."

There was an uncomfortable silence. During this time I noticed he smelled like kitty litter, and his eyes were bloodshot.

"So," he started, "where are you going?"

"Oh, I'm off of work now. I'm going to dinner with some people." It's best to be vague when dealing with Bob.

"Oh," he said. "That's too bad. If I hadn't just ordered food I'd invite myself to come with you."

"Oh?"

"Yeah, I'm forward enough to just invite myself like that." He giggled innocently.

"Yeah. I know."

"But my food is coming soon."

"Yeah."

Another long silence.

"Which people?"

"Pardon?" I pulled my coat closed and pretended to catch a chill.

"Which people? Which people for dinner?"

"Oh, my boyfriend, Tommy."

"Really? I'd like to meet him. I wonder if I could cancel my order."

I had to think fast. "And his parents. My boyfriend and his parents. It's a family thing. I can't really bring guests."

"Why not?"

"You understand I'm sure."

"I guess so. Listen can you give me a ride?"

"What?"

"I need to run up to the store and get some stuff. Can you take me?"

"No, Bob, I can't. I'm late for dinner."

"Oh, it's just that I don't have a car anymore."

This was getting deeper than I wanted to go. "You don't?"

"No. Transmission problems. My dad donated it to the Salvation Army and took the tax write off. But it's ok. I live near trains."

"Listen, Bob, I really gotta get going."

"Oh, OK. Well, Brian we should hang out more. Before I go."

"That'd be great, Bob."

"How can I get your number are you in the student directory?"

"Yes, I am." I lied.

"Want me to walk you to your car? I have an umbrella."

"No, no. I can make it. And it's not raining."

"Oh."

"Bye, Bob."

"Bye. I'll call you!"

I turned and left. Quickly.

Posted at 10:40 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action