2002-06-24 � Theresa's Bud

A few minutes ago I walked up to the circulation desk and had the following exchange with Theresa.

"Theresa, I'm going to the basement to get a soda. Would you like me to get you anything?"

"You know, Brian, I have to tell ya." She took a sip from a can wrapped in a paper towel. "I already got, with the. Well, see, it's funny see."

"What are you saying?"

"See I had a Coke. I usually when I get it out of the refrigerator I wrap it in a towel and oh heavens." She took another sip.

"Oh. Did you want me to get you a soda or a snack product? That's really I wanted to know."

"See, I keep a couple in the frige for when my son comes over my son to cut the grass. Because he likes and I drink it when I have it in my house. You know, when I have it for him I'll have one I'll drink it when I have it in the house see."

"It's good to have a few sodas around for yard work purposes."

"So he likes the beer when he cuts the grass and I'll, you know, I'll drink it when I have it, so I guess he won't get any this week I'll have to buy some more." She giggled a little and took another sip.

I began to understand where this was headed. I signaled the elevator

"So when I wrapped it in the towel, I didn't know," she continued. "And then I thought I'll have my Coke, because I have it in my bag over there so I got my coke out and I opened it up--" She gulped from her can. "--and I took it in my mouth and I said, wooo! What is that? It's my beer, for Heaven's... Ain't gonna have none when my son comes over to cut the grass! So, funny, 'cause I'll drink it when I have it in the house, see."

Theresa giggled a little and fluffed her hair. Then she took another swig.

Posted at 6:55 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action