2002-10-02 � Bruises

Last weekend, Tommy and I went to see The Secretary. If you don't already know, it's about a girl who cuts herself because she's got a really shitty home life. There is a bicycle lock on a cabinet where her mom keeps all the knives, and she carries aroud a sewing kit, bandaids, and iodine.

Anyway, one day she decides to get a job. So she applies to be James Spader's secretary. It really picks up when Spader notices his secretary injuring herself at reception and decides that maybe they can help each other out. See, he's a closet dominant and since she likes the tingly pain so much, they're made for each other.

The theater was packed. Mostly with old people. I didn't really understand that, but what do I know about such things. The first scene in which Spader's character exercises physical dominance over his secretary (though it is by no means his first act of dominance) takes place in his office. He produces a letter she has typed which contains typos. He instructs her to place her palms on the desk, bend over putting her face close to the letter, and read it aloud. As she reads it he begins to spank her. Firmly at first, brutally by the end. She does not object.

After the spanking, she goes into the restroom and pulls down her underwear to expose an enormous bruise on her ass.

There was a hetero couple behind us. That's not particularly interesting as heteros seem to be everywhere I go anymore, but the female whispered, "look familiar?" to her companion. That I found exceptional.

Tommy squeezed my hand, a physical expression of the uniqueness of the moment.

"What?" the man behind me asked. "Say again."

I closed my eyes.

"I said, 'DOES THAT LOOK FAMILIAR TO YOU? HER ASS IS ALL BRUISED AND I THOUGHT THAT MIGHT RING A FEW BELLS FOR YA'" she whispered loudly.

Heads started turning from two rows in front of us. Tom squeezed my hand harder.

"Oh," the man behind me said, a giggle in his voice. "Yeah. Familiar."

I believe that it was as close to a perfect moment as I have ever had. I did not ruin it by turning to look at the people behind me. I think it's better if I get to decide what they look like.

Posted at 10:16 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action