2002-03-28 � Ashamed

I went to the movies this afternoon. Going to the movies is one of my all time favorite things to do. I generally see all of them, or most all of them. I love the experience of seeing it on the big screen, sound system causing my sternum to vibrate alarmingly. A shared experience, even when one goes alone.

Which is what I did this afternoon. I went between my morning class and my evening class. It was difficult to decide exactly which movie to see. Tom and I have very similar taste in movies, you see, but there are areas where our preferences do not overlap. Occasionally a movie comes out that he just doesn't want to see. I can understand that. I don't want to see all of them either.

So I stood in the theater lobby performing a complicated calculus balancing start time, movie length, and trying all the while to exclude date movies.

Tom doesn't care for animated movies, so I thought about Ice Age, Fox's new computer generated marvel. I understand it prominently features the abuse of a squirrel, so naturally I was interested. I stepped up to the window and just before I purchased my ticket, a bus load of romper room denizens decended on the lobby. There was a single adult and almost twenty six year olds. They were squeeling gleefully, asking to go to the bathroom, and generally being children on an outing, which is only natural. Some of them brought stuffed creatures from the movie and were acting pivitol scenes out on the gum crusted carpet.

I backed away from the window allowing the adult in charge to step up and arrange for a group rate for her horde. A few moments later she marshalled the children into an amazing whirling dervish of perpetual motion and took her place in the center. She took a deep breath and plunged into the theater. I decided to see something else.

There are two vampire movies out right now, neither of which interested Tom at all. I, on the other hand, have something of a vampire fetish, so I'm always up for a suck flick. My two choices were 1) The Queen of the Damned and 2) Blade 2. I wanted to see the Ann Rice movie more, but the times, the blasted times, were against me. I'd have been late for class if I'd chosen that one.

So I paid actual money to see Blade 2. Money that I will never see again. I pissed it away like I have it to piss away.

I'm so ashamed. I'll spare you the review, but when I left the theater I was making this face.

I should listen to Tommy.

But only sometimes.

Posted at 11:49 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action