2002-04-07 � anum

Today, dear reader, my diary is one year old.
It was on this date exactly one year ago, that I put up my very first entry. I remember it was on the blue template, and I did it from the reference desk at Peth's urging.

One of the greatest things about having a diary, online or not, is the ability to track the progress made as we chart our way through life. We grow, we change, we live.

Every year when I was a child, my parents used to stand me against a door frame on my birthday. My father would take out a carpenter's pencil and mark my height on the wall. Then my mother would come by and label it with the date. "Take your shoes off, Brian. Come on, now. Be serious. Don't slouch. Look how much you've already grown!"

I can remember periodically measuring myself against the birthday mark during the course of the year. My progress always amazed me. I didn't feel any different. I didn't feel any taller, but there was proof of the change right there on the wall.

So as I look back on my first wonderful year, as I look at my virtual door frame, I leave my mark. And I join you, dear reader, as we evaluate my growth. What follows is my very first diaryland entry ever. Let's reread it together.

2001-04-07 - 3:17 p.m.

My pay check came in short. Appearantly there was an error in the transmission of the number of hours I worked to the home office, and I should have been paid twice as much as I was. They tell me they can rectify the problem in 2 weeks. In the mean time my rent is due in 1 week. This means I'm going to have to make a choice. I can call and beg my parents for money, or hook on the street corner.

The folks have been very patient with my poverty, but I so hate to tap them. I wish I was out of school and a little more self-sufficient. I guess that means I'd better line up a mack and buy a small weapon I can conceal in my hair.

You know.

For protection

Hmmm. That's funny. I seem to be in exactly the same position I was back then. Odd. Oh, forget all that "growth" and "change" stuff. Besides, growth is overrated.

Posted at 4:19 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action