2001-10-23 � pixie dust

Every assertion I am about to make can be verified by going here and routing around. I have taken nothing out of context and all quotes are acurate.

I consider this entry a piece of journalism. There are very strange forces at play in our world. There's terrorism, and blue turbans, and rubble in powerful cities. Many have come to regard these things as signs of the end times. I am not supersticious, but when I saw this, I couldn't refute the potential validity of such claims. You see, I have quite by accident stumbled across the definitive sign of the end times.

BEHOLD RANDY CONSTAN:

Disturbing, no?

The text accompanying this series of photographs (oh, yes. There's a whole series!) identifies this as a "play suit." I found this under the category, "Every Day Wear." I like the capris and the matching belt and shoes.

Randy, a 47 year old Tampa, Florida resident, started his site so that "Tinkerbell would have an easier time finding" him. He muses about the asexual nature of Peter Pan and finds it unfortunate that "society has defined sexuality (and in particular male sexuality), [sic] and has made it into a god."

This, and again I must emphasize, 47 year old, self-proclaimed "silly boy" is hoping to hear from others who fancy themselves "in whole or in part pixie, elf, fairy, or similar creature."

I leave you to think about this. About Randy and his message. I leave you to think about what the following image means.

Before you go any further, I have the duty to pass on a warning posted by Randy on his Blueboy page. "TCO Warning!! (Total Cuteness Overload!)"

According to Randy, who was "inspired by the famous painting by Gainsborough," (and if the bags under his eyes are any indication, he was also inspired by a couple of viles of crack, but I digress) it's a tribute to the boy in the painting.

"If the child that posed for the original painting felt silly in that outfit," Randy writes, "I'm sure he would have been comforted that he didn't have to wear my version! ;)"

I think that's something we can all take comfort in.

Posted at 4:31 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action