2001-09-26 � crazy immigrants

So yesterday in the library there was some excitement. It seems that one of the library people suffered a stroke! I'm not kidding, a stroke right there in the library.

Well, ok maybe not in the library. Here's the story.

So this woman, we'll call her Judy, went to lunch at one of the local dives. She walked back about 3 blocks and up 3 flights of stairs and when she came around the corner into the library, the people there were all, "Are you ok? You look awful!"

And Judy said, "I fell asleep into my soup!" Oh, I forgot to mention that Judy is French and has a heavy French accent. Let me try that again.

And Judy said in her heavy French accent, "I fell asleep into my soup!" Much better.

So the people were all gathered around her and they were saying, "Maybe you should get checked out." And Judy was like, "No, no. I am fine." And they were like, "no, people don't usually pass out into their chicken noodle. There's something wrong." And Judy was like, "It was tomato basil. See you can still smell the basil if you sniff this stain on my dress." And they were all like, "EWWWWW! French people are weird!" And then Judy was like, "Maybe I should see ze doctor!" in her heavy French accent.

She was subsequently whisked off to the hospital. We later got the word that she had suffered a stroke, but would be fine.

Who knew that people from the land of butter and cream would have blocked arteries in their necks? Immigrants. They never learn.

Well, I'm off to get a double cheeseburger and a giganto milkshake. If you would like to tell me a funny story about someone you know who almost died, sign my guestbook, or send me email at [email protected]

Posted at 5:42 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action