2001-09-24 � them windows

This past weekend I was working with Theresa again. As you may recall from earlier entries, she's about 147 years old and can't hear. The fetching Peth was sitting at the circulation desk. Theresa was handling a question from a patron. She wanted to write down a call number. She grabbed a mechanical pencil. It had no exposed lead. She did not click the eraser to turn the plastic shell into a writing instrument. Instead, she rubbed the plastic across the paper trying to get it to leave a mark.

"This pen is so bad they ought to just throw it away. I don't know why they would have a pen that doesn't work."

"It's a pencil Theresa."

"This pen is so bad they ought to just throw it away."

"It works. I used it earlier."

"I don't know why they would have a pen that doesn't work."

"No, just click the end."

"This pen--"

"It's a PENCIL, Theresa, a PENCIL."

"--is so bad they ought to just throw it away."

"Here, just gimme it. Gimmie. See. Click the end and then the lead comes out and you can write with it."

"You gonna throw that away?"

"No. It works. Just like it should. There's no need to throw it away."

"I don't know why they would have a pen that doesn't work."

"I know, sweetie, I know." Peth gave the cutie patron the call number and a demure grin.

A little later Theresa shuffled over to the reference desk. Also as you may recall, it's also been hot, real real hot in the law school. The air conditioner is still not fixed.

"It sure is hot. They ought to open them windows on the bridge."

"What is that? You think it's hot? It's a scant 64 degrees. Celsius." My wit was lost on her.

"It sure is hot."

"I know. It's just awful."

"Them windows on the bridge, they ought to open them."

"Who is �them?'"

"It sure is hot."

"Yes, I should go open them windows on the bridge." said Peth.

"They ought to open them windows on the bridge."

"I'm going to do that just now."

"It sure is hot."

"I'm going, I'm going."

"Are you gonna open them windows on the bridge?"

"Yes" said Peth, "yes I am."

"Cause somebody ought to open them windows on the bridge."

"I've opened 2 of them. 2 to go."

"It sure is hot. But that last war was about OIL. And I just don't know about fighting about OIL."

"Thank you, Theresa, for another spectacular non sequitur" I said.

Peth came back. "They're all open."

"They ought to open them windows on the bridge."

"I did that."

"The windows? On the bridge? You opened them?"

"Yes. I opened the windows on the bridge."

"Not these windows here. THEM windows. On the bridge."

"Yes, I know. I opened them. You had that idea, and I thought it was a good idea so I opened them."

"Oh."

Oh, indeed.

Posted at 11:28 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action