2001-08-08 � Squirrel: Redux

You're probably tired of reading about my squirrel related problems, but I'm gonna write about them anyway. For anyone who has not yet read about the squirrel saga please consult the older entries to get all caught up. As for the status of the squirrel invasion, 10 days no signs. I think he's gone. That is not, however, the end of the story.

As you may or may not remember we put mothballs in the wall to discourage the squirrel from coming back. Last week I had the windows open and fresh air flowed through the place like it belonged there. This week we're havin' a heat wave. I've got the AC cranked �cause I'm all about my comfort.

Anyway, the squirrel moved the mothballs from the opening in the wall. He carried them away and they are somewhere I can't reach because I don't bend like that. Now that the windows are all sealed, the stench of mothballs has filled the apartment and every time I come home, I get smacked in the face with a pungent yuckiness.

So last night I was trying to get as much of the mothballiness out of the wall as possible because, well, phew, and while I was digging around in the (asbestos?) insulation I found the hole the squirrel made to enter my place. He came from below. Ewww.

Anyways, I was digging around and I also found acorn husks. This has horrified me all over again. What if it's just been sleeping over at its girl's place for a few nights? I had reassured myself that it had somehow become trapped in the wall and had no desire to stay. I now know it had been nesting and able to collect food from the outside to eat in my wall. I hate that thing.

I got a few more mothballs out, but I can still smell them. I've got lots of aids though. Scented candles, diffusers, chemical gel in jars, sprays, houseplants to filter the air. Somehow the mothballishness still comes through.

The upshot is that as of this moment I not only fear my advancing age, the mothball/perfume scent makes my home smell like a geriatric wing. That's right, I smell old. Positively dreamy. The next step is a colostomy bag.

Posted at 11:11 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action