2001-07-17 � recomendation

I just finished reading a most excellent book. It's by Christopher Buckley and it's called Little Green Men. It's about a prominent media figure who has a Sunday morning talk show in the vein of Meet The Press, who gets abducted by aliens and begins screaming about it on his program.

I can't remember laughing so hard. All of the characters, especially the politicians are inspired by high ranking Clinton administration officials, though different enough that they seem utterly believable in very strange situations. You should all read it.

By way of disclaimer, be forewarned: the only midgets in Little Green Men are background characters and we never get to know their names. I'm not sure if this book can, therefore, be included in my growing catalogue of Midgets in Literature. I'll probably include it because the list is short.

Posted at 3:17 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action