2001-07-12 � Gurmit

This summer I'm working at a firm. It's a small firm, 9 attorneys, and a healthy stable of support staff. One of our clients is named Gurmit. That's her first name. Gurmit.

Yesterday, it was determined that some of the work we are doing for Gurmit could not be done unless we called her. The paralegal across from me said, "I'll call her."

"Oh, that's ok," I said, "I'll call. I'm sure there are many paralegal things that need doing. I'm just a clerk. I'll handle it."

Of course, I just wanted the experience of picking up the phone and saying, "May I speak to Gurmit please? Yes, I'll hold." I think such an experience would be practically redefining on a spiritual level. I can't decide if "Gurmit" is more Jim Henson, or lesser pantheon.

Anyway, the paralegal said, "I'll make the call, I'm more familiar with the information we need."

I hate the paralegal. She never lets me have any fun. She's all "business like" and "professional." How sanctimonious.

Posted at 11:50 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action