2002-04-20 � Tidbits

Tommy says I mention Wendy's a lot. He says my Wendy's entries should get their own link up top. What do you think?

~~~~~~

Tonight Tommy and I went to Wendy's before the movie. There was a man dressed as a woman behind the counter. She had track marks and joked about it being her first day. We laughed uncomfortably at her jokes because she was intimidating in that way that made us believe we ought to laugh at her jokes regardless of actual humor content.

"Better count that change," she said to Tom. "It's my first time." We laughed uncomfortably. "If I gave you too much, I expect you to tell me." She looked at us sternly. We took our chili covered salads to our table and tried to pretend she wasn't staring at us.

Occasionally she would bring a broom and dustpan to our table. I was very careful not to drop any crumbs. I didn't want to raise her ire.

~~~~~~

We bought our tickets at the movie theater. We were in theater twelve. When we came around the corner, there were two men sitting together, but with an empty seat between them. There was a dance mix playing. They were doing a variant of the cabbage patch dance in their seats. I let out a ribald cackle. The movie featured axe murdering fathers and sons.

Posted at 11:09 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action