2001-11-12 � NOT terrorism

I was reading The Prickly Weed's latest entry when it occured to me that I am absolutely obsessed with terrorism. She linked no fewer than three of my entries in which I deal directly with the subject. And Inotherwords riffed off my anthrax riff in her own riffic way.

It is therefore my resolution to not be obsessed with terrorism any more. For example, I will not discuss the recent DONUT TERRORISM! to strike my school. You will have to find that information somewhere else.

I do, however, have a morsels or two. First, I was just outside and I ran into Holly. She had her cell phone with her. Someone called and, I swear to god, her phone started playing a Bach Tocatta and Fugue. "I'm sorry, I have to take this" she said dismissively and then was off in the nether regions with someone else.

I understand that I'm horribly old fashioned, but I like phones that sound like phones. I don't really like phones at all, truth be told, but I really don't want "Take Me Out to the Ball Park" to sound everytime a creditor calls. And moreover, it doesn't sound right to hear "Hey Jude" on the single tones that a cell phone can produce.

I don't have a cell phone. I don't really want a cell phone. I don't like the idea of being so easily accessible. But if I ever do get a cell phone I hope it has a setting that will make it sound like a phone. Either that or a setting that will play "Dancing Queen" everytime I get a call. I think either would be equally acceptable.

Also, it has always been my contention that a party at Peth's house should include Flavor Blast Fritos. Else is it really a party? Also Bitchelicious should be invited. I will not call her Colleen, only Bitchelicious.

On the radio today there was mention of a plane crash. I mention it only as a public service, not as a potential bit of terrorism.

Posted at 5:06 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action