2001-12-02 � Soul

It can only be described as a shitstorm. In one corner, Lisa. The spunky Puerto Rican with a rapier wit and history of scratching at eyes in a fight. In the other corner, Katrina. She had the North Philly street cred and the fan-girl sensitivity.

After the requisite ten paces they turned, aimed and slung a plate of soul food in front of me. It was the Rutgers-School of Law Library's first ever Macaroni and Cheese Cat-Fight.

Said Katrina, "I grabbed the wrong cheese. It's supposed to be Cracker Barrel, but I grabbed Cracker Barrel 2% by mistake. The only difference is a little ribbon on the lable. So it's not all it could be. And for some reason it's a little salty for my taste."

"Listen to her. Making apologies before we even taste it. Must be scared"

"No, by saying all that, I'm just saying you're going down and I even had one hand tied behind my back. You're going down! Down Town! And I'm gonna take you there. Ain't no Puerto Rican gonna say they got better macaroni and cheese than me."

"We'll see." Lisa was confident.

The judges: Me, Ms. Monkeyshines, and Theresa.

We tasted them.

Peth said, "I like them both, but this one is creamy and this one is sharper and this one is blah, blah, blah, blah, so basically they are so different I just can't choose a favorite."

Cop out.

Theresa said, "My husband used to always make me put tomatoes in mine, but this doesn't have any tomatoes. Them kids don't like my macaroni and cheese, they just like the box kind with the orange, you know, cheese juice, and that's all them kids like and they also like Dinti Moore Beef Stew. What else did you guys make? Oh, look at that, it's macaroni and cheese!"

Unintelligible.

I say, "I love you Lisa, but Kat wins the day."

Blue Ribbon officially awarded to Katrina.

Posted at 5:20 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action