2002-07-22 � The Old Ways

From my email. This was submitted by the lovely and charming Ellen.

Hey Brian,

I went to the library today, got 2 books and brought them to the counter for checkout. Unfortunately, I chose to checkout when the library staff had left Theresa minding the counter. Fast forward forty minutes later: the books still had not been checked out because Theresa didn't know how to make the proper screen come up on the computer.

The conversation and all its nuances have to be told in person (but I'm sure you can imagine.) One of the tidbits went like this at one point:

Theresa: Do you know how this thing works?

Me: No, I don't work here.

Theresa: I know. They should go back to the old ways. I just thought maybe you had an idea.

Me: No, but I am willing to try. (At which point I did. For 10 mins., all the while praying someone would come to the rescue. No one did)

Theresa: Okay, well you got to have the books, so I'll write it down and they'll have to put it in later:

Me: Okay. Whatever you say.

(Phone rings.)

Theresa: (Very loudly) Hello? Rutgers Law Library. (1 min. later) What? No I think you want the undergraduate library. No, I don't know the number, but hold on let me see if I can find it. (She lays the phone down on the desk and proceeds to look in a binder, meanwhile saying loudly, "They used ta have a sign right here with all the phone numbers, but they don't now. They should go back to the old ways. Oh here it is, 6033.)

Theresa: (back on the phone now, loudly)Okay. This is the number in case I don't do it right. 6033, okay? Yeah, no, I'm gonna transfer you, but in case, you know, it doesn't work right, okay?

I'll tell you the rest later. Just the retelling of that portion has worn me out. Please post a sign to other library employees that she is not to be left alone, ever.

As always, I am stunned.

Posted at 8:48 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action