2002-01-11 � nuremberg

This morning I was in the parking lot at school and one of the articles editors on the Journal went flying by me. Her brain noticed me after she had passed so she sort of shifted to the left and stuck out her arms like an airplane as she banked around until she was facing me again.

"Oh, Brian!" she said. "We're in deep doo doo!"

I couldn't imagine what she was talking about. "What do you mean?" I asked. "What doo doo?"

She was jogging in place. Our predicament had generated within her a great deal of pent up energy. "We're on CNN! We got so much traffic this morning, it crashed the server! I'm going to yell at the Dean about it right now!" She completed her circle and ran back toward the school, where she disappeared from view.

For any of you who don't know, January 10 was the official unveiling of the Donovan Project at lawandreligion.com. Col. Donovan, one of the prosecutors at the Nuremberg trials, collected a vast amount of documentation relating to the historic event and bound it in blue leather volumes which he kept in his office until he died. These documents have not been seen by the general public since the trial. It's stuff like concentration camp blueprints, hand written notes from Hilter, German intelligence regarding the danger the Christian Chruch played in relation to their Aryan philosophy, doodles doodled by Justice Jackson in the margins of trial briefs. Stuff like that. They are currently housed at the Cornell Law School's Library.

In an effort to use the medium of the web effectively, we have entered into an agreement with Cornell through which we publish sections of these documents, exactly as they are, and provide scholarly commentary along side. When we published the first installment this morning we generated enough traffic to crash the school's servers.

We were featured on the AP wire and on CNN's news ticker. We're famous now! I know most of you really don't care, but we worked so hard to get this agreement and to put something up that really contributes, in some small way, that I'm abandoning my usual cynicism to say "YAY US!" and you can't stop me. Unless you build an elaborate, Dr. Evil style trap that makes good use of fly paper, a fist full of marbles, and a parabolic mirror. That's the only way you'll stop me.

Posted at 1:34 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action