2002-04-06 � mini?

Today Peth spent a lot of time making this faceat me. She does a dead on impression of Chante. However, she has not, to date, killed anyone.

Tom thinks I should stop using this image in my diary. He says I over use it.

I say this is a most perfect communicative tool. I can communicate so much more information when I throw this image into an entry. It's very evocative.

What do you think? Sign the book, or leave me a note to let me know if I should continue to use this face to punctuate my words.

~~~~~~

Earlier Dean's Day was happening to us here at the law school. Bevin thinks it was mini.

She is wrong.

For the library staff, Dean's Day is far from mini. The reading room, commonly known as the bridge, is the only room on campus large enough and fabulous enough to host such a prestigious event. This means that they all come through here.

At its height, it was chaos. Hundreds of people dripping mayonaise on the reporters and dribbling sticky brown soda on the carpets. In the middle of it all, reference questions and at one point someone leaned against a fire exit and set off the alarm.

They're gone now. Gone but not forgotten. As I look out across the library, at the shredded napkins on the floor, and the wilted lettuce stuck to the windows, and the food damaged volumes, many of which are irreplacable, I can't imagine anyone applying the word "mini" to the event. The very thought makes my face squish into this expression:

~~~~~~

In other news, Theresa's grandson came into the library today. There was gratuitious grandma kissing. Who knew he would be a hotty!

Posted at 2:42 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action