2001-12-03 � gender: neuter

Today I took Victoria and Albert into the shop. Last night, I put together the little kitty prison that has a handle on top and makes the car ride so much easier. They loved it. They played in it and one would be inside and the other would be outside and they would swat at each other through the little kitty prison bars. Then they would trade places.

I left it out for them overnight. I tripped over it on my way to coffee this morning as it was not where I had left it. Instead it was on the other side of the room and it was upside down. It was as if they had been to a little kitty kegger and dropped the mail on their way to bed.

So when I was finally ready to load them up and drop them off to be, well, altered, I picked them both up and put them in the kitty prison and then I slammed the door shut.

Instantly their faces were pressed up against the bars, the look of betrayal palpable. MEW! MEW! If they'd had a tin cup to rub against the bars it would not have been out of place.

They cried during the entire drive. I tried to comfort them. "It's ok kitty. I love the kitties! OOOOOHHHH, it-a gonna be all right." They were having none of it.

When we got to the shop, I checked them in and they told me to take them over to the kennel with a slip of paper identifying them and what procedure they were to undergo.

The woman who answered the door at the kennel had a lazy eye, but a keen intellect. She asked if my kitties were friendly. I asked her about the last time a person 18 times her size took her temperature rectally. "I had that done last night" she replied. I liked her.

I asked if they could share a cell and she said no. They had to be in different ones so they could tell them apart. I said "one is a boy. The other is not a boy. It's really a very simple deduction." She didn't budge.

I took them one at a time from the kitty prison and put them in the newer bigger newspaper lined kitty prison. They both turned their backs on me. I think they know what I had done.

I cried a little on my way out. They think less of me now. I think our relationship can be mended, however, becasue later they will be hungry.

Posted at 1:50 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action