2004-04-14 � An Incident

�Law Library. Reference.�

�Hello. Yes. Hello?�

�Go ahead. I can hear you.�

�Hello? Is this the law library?�

�Yes.�

�Is this the reference desk at the law library?�

�Yes.�

�Ok. Good.�

�Yes. How can I help you?�

�I have a question.�

�Yes, go ahead.�

�I need some information.�

�I�ll do my best.�

�I need you to tell me�what is your name by the way?�

�Brian.�

�Ok. Brian. Ok. I need you to tell me something.�

�Do you have a question?�

�Well, yes. Of course I do. I called you didn�t I?�

�You did call, yes.�

�Exactly. Now, Brian, my question is this. I need information about the Justice Studies Association�s anual confrence.�

�I�ve not heard of such a confrence. Is it being held at the law school?�

�No. It�s in I think Madison, Wisconsin.�

�Oh, I�m sorry. I wasn�t clear. This is the Rutgers Law School Library in Newark, New Jersey. You�ve misdialed terribly.�

�Just get me some information about the confrence.�

�What kind of information are you looking for?�

�I want to know if I�m presenting at the confrence.�

�Ma�am have you contacted the confrence directly to ask? Isn�t that the kind of thing that the confrence would advise you about ahead of time?�

�No. I�ve not been in contact with them.�

�Well, what is your name?�

�D------.�

�I�ll need your whole name � ma�am are you ok?�

�I�m fine.�

�It�s just that you stopped breathing for a second there.�

�I�m fine. Why would you need my whole name?�

�Well, if I find some information about the confrence they�re not going to list presenters by their first name. It�s not an AA meeting.�

�So, you found the confrence? Is it in Madison?�

�I�ve not looked yet. I need to know what to look for.�

�Well, look then.�

�I�ve found a website for the confrence. There do not appear to be any D------s presenting at this time.�

�Oh.�

�Ma�am are you sure you�re ok? It sounds like you�re moving your sofa. Do you need me to hold?�

�No. Hey listen, while I have you on the line I need a phone number for Google.�

�Google?�

�Yeah. Their number.�

�This is a law library.�

�Eight hundred if they have one.�

�Well, let me see. I�ve found a corporate phone number for you.�

�Ok. Give me that.�

"650��

�Did you say 650?�

�Yes.�

�Not 800?�

�Right. 650.�

�Where is that? 650?�

�It�s in Mountain View, California.�

�Do they have an 800 number?�

�They may, but you�ll need to call directory assistance to find it. I�ve found you a 650 number. Would you like it?�

�Yeah, I guess. But I�ll have to get a pen.�

�You asked for a phone number but you don�t have a pen?�

�No. Hold on. I�ll get a pen.�

And that�s when she flushed the toilet.

Read it again.

She flushed the Goddamn loo.

She�d called me, you see, to have a chat and ask all kinds of questions that are outside of my job description from the stool while she was having a movement. And she wanted me to provide her with information requiring her to take notes, but she didn�t bring a pen and paper with her. She�d only taken her cordless phone.

She did not wash her hands.

�Ok, I�ve got a pen now.�

�6506181499.�

�Slower. Slowly.�

�6. 5. 0. 6. 1. 8. 1. 4. 9. 9.�

�Did you say 618?�

�Yes. 6. 1. 8. 1. 4. 9. 9.�

�Ok. I wish that were an 800 number.�

�Yeah. Me too. Listen, I�ve got to run to the restroom, so I need to let you go now,� at which point I terminated the call.

Posted at 6:17 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action