2002-01-12 � the hunt / addendum

I'm back at the library. Theresa is nowhere to be found. I set the dogs out to look for her, but they returned empty handed.

I stood at my command post, the glow of the monitors and radar screens lit me from below. The bags under my eyes deepened as a result of the dramatic lighting and it made me seem more imposing, or so my lieutenant told me.

"Have the teams reported back from the Southwest quadrant?"

"Not yet, Sir. But tactical reports spotting a meals on wheels flyer litering the pavement about here." The lieutenant made a few key strokes and an enormous map appeared on the chief monitor out front. A red line outlined a portion of the map in the upper right side.

"Damn" I cursed. It's the geriatric district. We'll never locate her if she made it up there. She'll blend right in, disappear in a sea of her own kind."

"The Sergant is confident he'll find her, even in the Geri Dist" said the Lieutenant. He was using what had become well recognized jargon by this point in the game. "Sarge says she'll never hear him coming."

"What about this? What is in this region?" I pointed to a large area in the north.

"Oh, that's nothing. It's a pig farm on the outskirts of the perimeter. The boys are holding the line just north of there. She'd never get through."

I moved in closer to the map. "That's where she is, Lieutenant. That's where she is. Send out every available man and don't neglect to check out the weiner stuffery. You know how she is about weiners."

We found her in the pig farm late that evening. She had been sitting in a field, eating freshly roasted wieners and picking at the leisions on her skin.

"Theresa?" I asked. "Theresa, do you know where you are?"

"I'll laeave when the clock strikes six and not before. Must be nice to be millionaires. Must be real nice. Being a millionaire like that. I don't need no millionaires."

"She gave us quite a fright," I said, "but it looks like she's gonna be just fine." I put my cap back on my head and exhaled for the first time all day. "Load her up boys. She's feral, so don't be afraid to use the tranq darts if she tries to break your skin. Tell the docs to see to it that she makes it to work next week. We've got journalers who have to make stuff up when she doesn't show."

"Lieutenant, shut down the mobile command post. We're goin home."

~~~~~~

This is a link to a page in Wesley's diary in which he claims to have posted his home phone number. I'm too shy, 'cause he says he's flirting with me, but if one or all of you would like to call and see if it's actually him. I'd appreciate it. Also, could you leave Wesley a note asking him if he's gay or not, because I just can't handle it if I get hung up on another boy just to find out two weeks later he's straight. I couldn't handle that. I'd have to stop typing.

Oh, and don't forget to thank him for the gum.

Thanks.

Posted at 3:18 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action