2002-06-05 � Generalities

I had to stop by the post office on my way to the library this evening. It was about three-thirty. The post office had a sign that said, "In case of emergency dial 9-1-1" on the door.

I was standing in line, double checking the address on my parcel, when I noticed that someone was trying to get my attention back by the post office boxes. He was waving and sort of bobbing his head back and forth in that way that people do when they're trying to make eye contact.

It was this absolutely beautiful guy and he's waving at me like he knows me, but I have no idea who he is. I've never seen him before, but he's behaving as if we were childhood friends.

So, I turn around to see if there is anyone behind me, and there's not. So, I look from side to side to see if he was actually trying to get the attention of someone near me, but I'm all alone at the back of the line.

And then he starts walking up to me and says, "Hey!"

So, I respond "Hi."

"How ya doin'?" he asked.

"Same as always."

"Hey, did you ever get that thing worked out?"

I have no idea what he's asking me or where he knows me from, but I'm digging the attention from and the proximity to this guy so I make the calculated decision to proceed with the conversation in vague terms in an effort to gather enough information from his side of the thing to enable me to fake it.

"Things have a way of working themselves out."

"That's true," he said. "You ever find yourself up that way again?"

I rolled my eyes a little in mock exasperation. "I'm always where ever I am. You know what I mean?"

A quizzical look crossed his face. I thought I'd blown it. "That's a great way of looking at things, my friend."

About that time, the crabby postal man signaled me, "Well, listen, I've got to get this sent," I said.

"Yeah, gimme a call, okay?"

"Will do."

The beautiful guy offered his hand, so I shook it. His grip was solid and his handshake lingered a bit the way friendly handshakes can. He put his left hand on my shoulder and smiled broadly. "Be well, Brian," he said.

He knew my name. How the hell could I possibly forget a face like that?

If you know who that was, please sign my guestbook or leave me a note, because I still have no idea.

Posted at 5:07 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action