2005-04-20 � Concession

Well, we have a pope, mofos. We have a pope.

After a long, difficult, well fought contest I am forced to admit that this time we just didn't get the votes. I feel like maybe My Arch Nemesis TM may have had a hand in things, but that's how the game goes.

I'd like to thank my campaign manager, my chief of staff, my advisors. I'd like to thank all the countless people who gave of their time and themselves manning phones, posting signs, and spreading the word how ever they might. I'd like to thank every citizen who donated to my campaign fund; your faith in me has touched my heart.

To all my supporters, what ever the capacity, I offer my thanks, my regrets, and a shared hope for the future.

And now all you mofos, we have a pope. We must unite behind him, challenging him where we may, but offering him our support where we can.

I note here that he is hella old and will die sooner than not. And when the time comes, Pope Persnickety III and the Papal Patrol will be waiting in the wings, waiting for a moment of ascendency.

God bless you all.

~~~~~~

I have just finished reading The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. This is a book that I can heartily recommend to one and all. I will not begin to describe its premise as it is completely preposterous, but I will say that in the hands of a novelist like Martel even the completely implausible can soar.

The novel has central themes of survival, the nature and power of storytelling, and even the nature of human existence, but none of that need be comprehended to appreciate the beauty of the work, which is in the end merely the story of a remarkable boy.

One small criticism. None of the characters in the novel were midgets. As you know all novels are greatly enhanced when an adorable little midget makes a cameo.

Go pick it up, if you haven't already.

Posted at 9:08 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action