2001-10-27 � Is Huggy Bear a Disney Character?

My friend Brett works here. As you may or may not recall, I have recently decided I do not want to be a lawyer depsite all the time and money I've spent on law school.

So because he misses me and lives many states away he made a pitch a couple of weeks ago. "You should come work here" he said. "It's the happiest place on earth and we hire tons of people all the time."

"Yeah," I said, "but scraping gum off the cobbles of the Magic Kingdom seems like a real step down from the possibility of being a lawyer. Granted, I don't really want to be a lawyer, but I want to wander around scaring children in wheel chairs while wearing a 400 pound Eeyore suit in 400 degree Florida heat at the grand opening of the all new 100 Akre Woods Rock Skipping Pond even less."

"Well, you wouldn't have to do that. You could do anything you want. In fact with a professional degree you could skip some of the entry levels and start a little higher up the food chain."

So this has started me thinking. I'm seriously thinking of attempting to become a corporate boob in a huge, for profit corporation which is, of course, evil by virtue of being a huge, for profit corporation. I wonder if working for a huge partnership which has the auspices of being formed to practice law and a huge, multinational, for profit corporation formed to over stimulate children with attention deficit (Marge, I could really use another Ritalin over here! The carrots are gonna start singing again, and they'll throw us out if we have another "Tiki Room Incident") are in actuality different things?

So I called "Casting" and told them about myself and told them what kinds of skills I had, and told them that I was interested in learning about employment opportunities, and asked them to send me propoganda.

I now look forward to receiving it in the mail.

What is wrong with me?

Do you think I should spend my time and use my education to squash personal fan homepages that use an image that may be associated with D? What about Randy Constan? What about him? His page seems to have disappeared. Is it because he had a picture of Tinkerbell as imagineered by D on his site? Randy brought me so much joy. Is it possible Randy is no longer a web presence because I sent a link to my friend Brett at D and it some how came to the attention of the evil 700 pound gorilla? Did I do that? Am I a meglomaniac drunk off the prospect of my own influence and power?

The only thing I'm sure of is that I'm graduating in a few months and I'll need a job. Maybe I am a doo whop whore after all.

Posted at 11:04 a.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action