2001-10-20 � keys

Once more. I swear this is the last one for today.

I was behind the scenes in the library in the reserve room. Back in the back we have a Professors reserve where extra copies of stuff are kept that only the faculty can access.

A professor was climbing around in the stacks and when she saw me asked, "Has anyone turned in some keys from back there?"

I said, "I don't know. Let me check." So I went out behind the circulation desk and asked, "Has anyone turned in some keys?" The professor was right behind me while I asked.

Peth said, "I'm not sure, let me check." She went to the lost and found drawer and examined the contents.

Theresa said, "Keys to what?" and produced her own key ring.

"My own keys. My personal keys." the professor said.

I held my head in my hands.

"Well, I don't have a key to that. You'll have to ask a guard."

"No, you misunderstand. I've lost my keys. I thought I might have left them around here."

"Well, the guard will have keys for that. Just ask the guard."

The professor started speaking slowly as if to very small children who are slow learners. "I've... lost... my... keys.... They... belong... to... me.... The... guard... doesn't... have... a... key... to... my... car... or... my... house."

Theresa looked confused.

I said, "She can't hear."

Peth said, "No keys have been turned in."

The professor started to leave. She said, "I probably mislaid them in my office or something. I'll find them."

As the professor was leaving, Theresa said, "you can ask the guard. They have keys to everything. The guard can let her in. She just has to ask the guard."

Just a few minutes ago, Theresa found a set of keys in the back and put them in the lost and found drawer.

"I found these on the footstool back there. Somebody must have lost them."

I wonder who?

Posted at 3:51 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action