2001-09-09 � Doo Wop Whore

So, I�ve recently decided I don�t want to be a lawyer. But wait! Aren�t you going into your third and final year of law school? Yes. Yes, I am. And I�m hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt in an effort to become a lawyer. And I�ve been busting my ass to get good grades so I could land the good job that would train me to be the best lawyer.

Perfect timing right?

So I decide this about, oh I don�t know, three or four weeks ago and it�s after I�ve been putting in all this effort and money and stuff to send out resumes to prospective employers. My school participates in the Philadelphia Area Minority Job Fair and I signed up to go. It was last weekend. I know I�m a white boy, but I�m a fag so I get to go. I had some very desirable interviews with some of the top firms in the area.

As an aside, I give great interview. I�m not afraid or nervous; I don�t pick my fingernails during the thing or play down the negative aspects of my resume. I�m charming and funny and honest and have had many, many interviewers tell me what an absolute delight I am!

So I�m at this dealy thing and I�m in my best suit and I�m chatting with this attorney from this firm about how wonderful it would be to be involved with a litigation firm just like hers and we�re laughing and oh, she just recently handled a multi million dollar environmental tort case in which she represented the corporate polluter against these people who have had to undergo chemotherapy for their various cancers and she got them to settle for much less than a jury verdict and it was great because the client was happy and the patients at least got something and IT WAS INTELECTUALLY CHALLENGING and it occurs to me that I�m a total whore. A complete and utter whore with my legs in the air and the dollars in my hand and when I pictured myself like that I was also smacking gum and twirling my hair and saying �Yeah, daddy just like that, Mommy�s never had it so good.� I don�t want to be involved in any litigation, but this firm hires first year associates at 90K and in exchange for that exorbitant sum the first year associate sells his soul and I would much rather be EMOTIONALLY challenged about something than INTELLECTUALLY challenged about raping a family who has cancer because of what the people on my side have done.

So now this interview is ending and she shakes my hand and asks for my references, which is a very good sign and I�m starting to feel a little queasy.

My sister had this college roommate named Praise who was very into R&B. She had a marvelous singing voice and was always playing her music and singing along. I remember this because at the time I thought it was absolutely bizarre that she never sang the lead vocal. She never sang along with the title artist, never sang the melody. Praise used to sing along with the back up singers. She was all �Doo-Doo Baby, Gonna Git Cha OOOOOH.� She was by herself and she still felt like she had to sing back up.

I�m beginning to understand how she felt.

Posted at 11:20 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action