2001-04-09 � the video store

Three weeks ago I rented two videos. I still have those videos. They don't belong to me, but I still have them. I don't even remember which movies I have.

Teenagers that work at the video store keep calling, so I'm screening my calls. Someone at the video store is very persistant. This person never calls to ask for the videos back. Instead, the persistant person directs a teenager who really doesn't care whether I keep the video for the rest of time to call me.

I think there are three of these teenagers, all boys, assigned to call me. Two of them sound very similar, but I think I can differentiate their voices on my answering machine. I call them The Twins.

I like to call the third teenager The Stoner. He's my favorite. "Uh... hello? Uh... this is the video store? Uh... you've got a couple of videos out? Uh... they're nineteen days late? Uh... hello?"

I don't know why I still have videos out. I didn't particularly like the movies, I can't even remember their names. I think I'm intimidated by the video store. I don't want to run into the presistant person when I return my videos. She'll probably look down her nose and ask for the late fee. A fee I can't pay.

I wish I had a video store of my own. I'd keep stuff for as long as I want, and I'd never make The Stoner call me. I'd make him call my ex.

Posted at 6:34 p.m.

previously on Soonernext on Sooner

last five entries

  • making Sense of the State of the Union -- 2
  • Making Sense of the State of the Union -- Pt. 1
  • But I'm Willing to Learn
  • Rough Draft
  • Political Action